Confession #1: My ulterior motive

Posted: August 8, 2011 in Confessions, Fantastic Ideas, My Novel
Tags: , , , ,

I have a confession to make… this is not really a blog. Ok well it kind of is. But it’s also an experiment. You see, I’ve always been the sort of person who regularly comes up with absolutely fantastic ideas only to get bored or distracted before I follow through with them – much to the annoyance of my very supportive husband (herein known as The Motivator).

One day on my drive home from work I came up with the fantastic idea that I should write a novel (yes, very original, I know). As soon as I got home I very excitedly told The Motivator all about my idea including a brief story outline as well as some character descriptions (and my choice of actors for the movie adaptation). He was very encouraging and told me to get started right away – and I did.

Get started, that is. I’m very good at starting things, not so good at finishing them…It’s been about five years since that fateful drive home and I still don’t have much more than the outline and the idea I started with because as soon as I get serious about one idea, another pops into my head that seems much better and much more worth my time so I start on that instead…then when I get started on that idea, I have the same problem again!

So. Maybe when I (finally) finish my manuscript it will become a bestselling masterpiece and blockbuster movie worthy of starring Sir Anthony Hopkins; maybe it will be a load of drivel that friends and family will politely “Ooh” and “Aah” and “Good on you for trying!” over for about five minutes before I file it away forever in my “Ugh, what was I thinking?!” drawer (that seems the more likely outcome). That doesn’t matter right now. Whether or not I have any actual talent remains to be seen, but for the moment my primary goal is to for once and for all see one of my ideas all the way through to completion and I’m hoping this blog will help make that happen.

Wish me luck!

You can find out more about how this experiment is supposed to work in Behind the Blog.

Leave a Reply

